Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
According to the Texas Alcohol Beverage Code, a minor is defined as someone under 21 years of age. If you meet this definition and are charged with alcohol possession, or you’re an adult charged with furnishing alcohol to a minor, you could face serious criminal penalties, such as fines and jail time. That’s why you need the Austin, TX DWI defense attorneys at Minton, Burton, Bassett & Collins, P.C.
Call us today at (512) 476-4873 or contact us through our online form.
Our criminal defense lawyers handle alcohol-related offenses in Hays, Bastrop, Caldwell, Burnet, Comal, Travis and Williamson counties. We will defend your rights and reputation.
Purchase of alcohol / attempt to purchase by a minor
- Suspension of driver’s license for 30 days for a first offense, 60 days for a second offense and 180 days for a third offense;
- Community service; and
- Alcohol-awareness course.
A minor who has been previously convicted of an alcohol offense faces more severe penalties, including:
- 180 days confinement; and
- $250 to $2,000 fine.
Consumption / Possession of alcohol by a minor
The same penalties as for purchase, unless the minor consumes or possesses the alcohol in the presence of an adult parent, legal guardian or spouse.
The following are potential punishments faced by adults charged with alcohol-related offenses involving a minor:
Sale of alcohol to a minor
- Up to one year in prison;
- $4,000 maximum fine.
Purchase of alcohol for a minor
Unless the person is the adult parent, legal guardian or spouse of the minor and the minor consumes the alcohol in his or her presence, a person who purchases alcohol for a minor may be charged with a Class B misdemeanor.
Contact Us Today
If you or your child has been charged with these alcohol-related offenses, the experience criminal defense lawyers at Minton, Burton, Bassett & Collins, P.C., can help you. We understand how courts evaluate the evidence and factors surrounding alcohol-related charges involving a minor, and we can use our knowledge to prepare an effective strategy. We don’t want your or your child’s future to be in jeopardy. Call the Texas drunk driving attorneys at Minton, Burton, Bassett & Collins, P.C., today at (512) 476-4873 or contact us through our online form.
We have 45 years of experience representing clients in Austin, TX and the surrounding communities, including: Travis County (Creedmoor, Elroy, Manor, Pflugerville); Williamson County (Cedar Park, Georgetown, Liberty Hill, Florence, Leander, Round Rock, Taylor); Hays County (Buda, Dripping Springs, Kyle, San Marcos, Wimberley); Bastrop County (Bastrope, Clearview, Elgin, Rockne, Smithville); Caldwell County (Lockhart, Luling); Burnet County (Bertram, Burnet, Marble Falls); and Comal County (Bulverde, Canyon Lake, Gruene, New Braunfels, Sattler, Startzville). We will defend your rights and reputation.